UZH DSI Democracy

## Call for Papers: Digital Democracy Workshop



University of Zurich October 26-27, 2023

We invite paper submissions on the relationship between digital technology and democracy, broadly understood. We are particularly interested in topics such as political communication and public opinion, e-government and public administration, Al and governance, civic tech and political participation, the regulation of tech platforms, and state repression and surveillance, among others.

This workshop is co-organized by the Democracy Community of the *Digital Society Initiative* (<a href="https://democracy.dsi.uzh.ch">https://democracy.dsi.uzh.ch</a>) and the *Digital Democracy Lab* (<a href="https://digdemlab.io/">https://digdemlab.io/</a>) at the University of Zurich. It aims to facilitate exchange among scholars from different substantive fields working on these topics. We particularly encourage early-career researchers and those belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in the field to apply.

Workshop attendance is free and is open to both paper presenters and non-presenters, but registration is required and subject to seat availability. The workshop will take place in Zurich and all presenters are expected to attend in person, in compliance with any public-health rules that may be in force at that time.

The **deadline** to submit paper abstracts for the workshop is **May 31, 2023**. Find the submission page at this link: <a href="https://digdemlab.io/forms/workshop2023.php">https://digdemlab.io/forms/workshop2023.php</a>. Acceptance notifications will be sent by June 30, 2023.

Registration for non-paper presenters will be open from June 10 to September 30, 2023. Please note that co-authors have to register separately as non-presenters if they wish to attend the workshop.

We provide a limited number of travel grants for junior scholars; more information will be provided upon acceptance.

Organizing committee: Anna Boos, Alexandre Bovet, Elliot Ash, Karsten Donnay, Fabrizio Gilardi, Emma Hoes, Mael Kuebli, Lucas Leemann, Matthias Leese, Martino Maggetti, Ehud Shapiro, Uwe Serdült, Philipp Trein, Natalia Umansky, Sophie van IJzendoorn. We can be reached at democracy@dsi.uzh.ch.